Shermani serogroup - 1982

In the serovar list of 1967 this group consisted of only one serovar Shermani with LT 821 as its reference strain, based on an unpublished reference. The relevant publication (Sulzer et al., 1982) refers to the strain as 1342 K, which replaces the previous designation in the Revised List of 1988. The group was extended by the addition of serovar Luis that was thought at first to be a member of the Tarassovi serogroup. Further investigations however showed that strain M 6 of Luis was serologically more closely related to Shermani and consequently the TSC at their Manchester meeting in 1986 decided that it should be placed within the Shermani serogroup.
Three other strains, MW 4, CI 40, and 9160 were shown to represent three new serovars within the Shermani serogroup. Although their descriptions have not yet been published, they are listed in the Annex to the Revised (1988) - and attached lists under the proposed
serovar names, Aguaruna, Babudieri and Carimagua respectively.
* Sulzer C.R., Pope V., Rogers F. New leptospiral serotypes (serovars) from the Western Hemisphere isolated during 1964 through 1970. Rev. Lat. Amer. Microbiol. 24, 1, 1982, 15-17.
* Kmety E., Dikken H.: Revised List of Leptospira Serovars (accepted by the Subcommittee on the Taxonomy of Leptospira). University Press Groningen, 1988, p. 16.

Showing 5 strains Each strain costs € 508,00