Australis serogroup - 1937

Since the list of 1967 was compiled, the group has first been extended by four serovars: Hawain, Soteropolitana, Ramisi, and the incompletely described Chinese serovar Rushan. Serovar Nicaragua was included in the WHO serovar list of 1967 under the laboratory code LT 990 on a provisional basis as no publication was known. The strain was subsequently submitted to factor analysis, which confirmed its serological status (Dikken and Kmety, 1978). In 1982 Sulzer described the serovar under the strain designation 1011, which consequently replaces the previous laboratory code.
Serovar Pina, strain LT 932 which is included in the WHO list of 1967 with a footnote, "provisional classification, pending further work" has not been included in the present list as it has not yet been published. Since the strain was typed by Galton who considered that it represented a separate serovar it has been placed in the Annex to the new serovar list (1988).
Further investigations have shown that serovar Bangkok is indistinguishable from serovar Australis (Kmety and Terpstra, personal communications) and it has, therefore, been omitted from the Revised List of 1988.
Lately serovar Bajan has been described. The serogroup now contains 13 serovars.
* Dikken H., Kmety E. Serological Typing Methods of Leptospires. Methods in Microbiol. vol. 11, 1978, 260-295.
* Sulzer C.R., Pope V., Rogers F. New leptospiral serotypes (serovars) from the Western Hemisphere isolated during 1964 through 1970. Rev. Lat. Amer. Microbiol. 24, 1, 1982, 15-17.

Showing 14 strains Each strain costs € 480,00